8 posts / 0 new
Last post
letsgamble
Last seen: 2 weeks 4 days ago
Joined: 2/17/19
Posts: 30
Switching to 230v on C36

Hi there!
I will need to transform 110v into 230v on my 2000 C36 mkII. Until now I located these appliances running on 110-120v:
1) Air conditioner TaylorMade Enviromental Marine Air Systems VCP16K + TaylorMade Enviromental blower + Dometic water pump LC-2CP-MD
2) Water heater Seaward S-600
3) Professional Mariner Zinc Saver II 30 Amp Galvanic Isolator (sticker says it works both on 120/240)
4) Battery charger (already bought 230v version)

Did I missed anything?
Are there any appliances which after connecting to the shore switch from the battery to 110?

Thanks!

Siler Starum's picture
Siler Starum
Last seen: 1 day 2 hours ago
Joined: 4/20/18
Posts: 46

presume you swap also all your receiptables for the 230VAC model and what about re-rating your main-fuses, earth-leakage safety protection etc?

--
Durk Nijdam
S/V "SILER"
Catalina 36MKII - 2001 / hullnr. 2013
Stavoren - Holland
letsgamble
Last seen: 2 weeks 4 days ago
Joined: 2/17/19
Posts: 30

thanks for reply. it will be done by a professional electrician but I want to gather some more info before service.

ps. by receiptables do you mean 230v outlets? thanks

LeslieTroyer's picture
LeslieTroyer
Last seen: 1 day 3 hours ago
Joined: 3/13/16
Posts: 456
Is this for non-USA power or a bigger service??? If USA you can power the 110 panel and things attached by just connecting one of the phases (hot, neutral and ground). And install a separate panel for the 220 (which will have the 110. Panel as one breaker). If non-USA you would need a new AC panel as all the breakers only cut power to one hot leg of the 220V so your equipment will still be hot. Les
--
Les & Trish Troyer
Mahalo 
Everett, WA
1983 C-36 Hull #0094
C-36 MK 1 Technical Editor. 
letsgamble
Last seen: 2 weeks 4 days ago
Joined: 2/17/19
Posts: 30

unfortunately non-USA

how about appliances like fridge etc., are there any which changes from battery to 110-120 when connected to the shore power?

thanks

LeslieTroyer's picture
LeslieTroyer
Last seen: 1 day 3 hours ago
Joined: 3/13/16
Posts: 456
Depends. Most fridges are 12V only. If you have an AC breaker for it then yes. On your dual voltage AC devices - be sure and also chech the frequency range, many devices don’t like 50Hz. Les
--
Les & Trish Troyer
Mahalo 
Everett, WA
1983 C-36 Hull #0094
C-36 MK 1 Technical Editor. 
True Wind
Last seen: 5 days 4 hours ago
Joined: 7/15/12
Posts: 82

Wouldn't it be easier and cheaper to install a step down transformer?

--
2003 Catalina 36
letsgamble
Last seen: 2 weeks 4 days ago
Joined: 2/17/19
Posts: 30

It took my electrician 2 days to do the work. He recalculated breakers and did 230v on the yacht. All appliances were replaced for 230v, in water heater only the heating pipe was replaced and for the AC we installed 110v->230v transformer.

Thanks

Log in or register to post comments